Did you know that 67% of doctors approve of medical marijuana? Legalizing marijuana for medical purposes has been an uphill battle for many states like Florida, South Dakota, and even Utah. With such division on the subject, it’s normal to wonder, “Is medical marijuana legal in Missouri?”
Don’t worry, with this guide you can find out! From Missouri’s marijuana laws to how to get a medical marijuana card, you can learn all about how to obtain marijuana legally in the great state of Missouri.
Now, are you ready to get started? Here’s an in-depth look at Missouri’s state marijuana laws:
Is Medical Marijuana Legal in Missouri?
Yes, medical marijuana is legal in Missouri. In 2018, the Missouri state government legalized medical marijuana. Then at the end of 2019 and early 2020, the state began divvying out licenses to dispensaries and producers.
Now, a person with a medical marijuana card can possess 4 ounces of marijuana per 30 days or have up to 6 plants.
Medical Conditions That Qualify For Medical Marijuana
If you have one or more of the following conditions, then you may qualify for medical marijuana:
- Intractable migraines
- A chronic condition that leaves you with severe pain or muscle spasms, like:
- Parkinson’s disease
- Tourette syndrome
- A severe mental illness like:
- A chronic condition that’s normally treated with prescription medication that could lead to physical dependence. Sometimes a physician determines that a safer alternative would be to turn to medical marijuana.
- With the judgment of a knowledgeable physician, any chronic or severe condition like:
- Crohn’s disease
- Huntington’s disease
- Sickle cell anemia
- Alzheimer’s disease
How to Get a Medical Marijuana Card
To obtain a medical marijuana card, you first have to visit a licensed physician and get a physician certification form or PCF. Once you receive the form, you must register for an identification card and pay a small fee in the state’s online portal.
Then the state will either approve or deny your application within 30 days. Once approved, you can download and print out your identification card that way; you’ll always have it.
Now, here’s a tip to remember: make sure you start your online application within 30 days after you receive your PCF. After 30 days, your PCF is no longer valid, and you must go back to get another.
Do you have additional questions about Missouri’s marijuana laws? Of course, you do!
Below you can read more on the basics of marijuana cards, where to use medical marijuana, and how to pay for it. So without further ado, here are some of the most commonly asked questions:
Does Missouri Accept Out of State Marijuana Cards?
No, Missouri does not accept out-of-state medical marijuana cards. Even if you recently moved to Missouri and have a medical marijuana card from another state, you can not use that card to obtain marijuana in Missouri.
Since that card only applies to your state, it can be seen as illegal to try to get marijuana without proper identification. Thus, to acquire medical marijuana legally in Missouri, you must first get a medical marijuana card by visiting a licensed physician.
When Does a Medical Marijuana Card Expire?
Generally, medical marijuana cards expire after one year. Now, most people wonder, why do marijuana cards last for such a short period?
However, since the sale of marijuana is connected to medical conditions, providers want to make sure you still have that medical condition or that marijuana is still the best treatment. So like any card, you’ll have to get renewed if you still want to use it.
Can You Get a Medical Card for Anxiety?
Every state is different about what they accept and what they don’t when it comes to medical marijuana. Sadly anxiety is not one of the recognized medical conditions that qualifies you for medical marijuana in the state of Missouri.
However, that doesn’t mean it’s not recognized anywhere; in fact, Florida allows people with chronic anxiety to qualify for medical marijuana. So that can prompt the question: why does Missouri prohibit it then? Well, the state government does not deem medical marijuana a valid source of support for anxiety.
Can You Use Medical Marijuana Anywhere in Missouri?
No, you can’t use medical marijuana anywhere in Missouri. There are strict laws that prohibit you from using medical marijuana in any public place. So, for instance, you can’t use medical marijuana in a park, office building, school, or on the sidewalk. If you do, you’re breaking the law and can be given a fine or worse.
So it’s best to use marijuana in the comfort of your home or at a friend’s place. That way, you’re not breaking the law and illegally using marijuana.
Does Health Insurance Cover Medical Marijuana?
Health insurance companies are not required by law to cover medical marijuana. Therefore, they will not cover the cost to obtain the substance. That’s because marijuana is still a schedule 1 drug under federal law.
Meaning that it has a high potential for abuse and no medical use. Since medical marijuana hasn’t been approved by the federal government or by the FDA, health insurance companies are not legally obligated to cover the cost of marijuana.
Get a Medical Marijuana Card Today
Medical marijuana is a great alternative to traditional prescription drugs. However, in order to obtain medical marijuana, you first have to get a physician certification form for your condition.
Then you’ve to apply and pay a small fee to get your medical marijuana card. Once you have your card, you can possess up to 4 ounces of marijuana every 30 days or have 6 plants.
So, what are you waiting for? Get a medical card today!
Now that we’ve answered, is medical marijuana legal in Missouri? Visit our website to find out the rules and regulations in other states. We look forward to answering your questions about marijuana laws!