How to Read Harry Potter Book Series in Order?

How to Read Harry Potter Book Series in Order?

J.K. Rowling’s Harry Potter books have been widely acclaimed as some of the most influential works of fiction of the previous two decades. While attending Hogwarts School of Witchcraft and Wizardry, the eponymous young wizard must prepare to meet the evil wizard, Lord Voldemort.

Fortunately, Harry has his faithful pals, Ron and Hermione, and the quirky but knowledgeable Hogwarts headmaster Dumbledore.

As all Potterheads know, it’s impossible to rate these novels from most significant to worst since they’re all fantastic. Why not just display all of the Harry Potter book series in chronological sequence, highlighting the highlights for longstanding fans to fondly reminisce? In addition, the show’s innate appeal will be introduced to new viewers.

This is how you should read the Harry Potter books in sequence.

1. The Sorcerer’s Stone

To find out his true identity, Harry Potter discovers on his eleventh birthday in Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone: He has been known to defeat Lord Voldemort as a baby in the magical world. Hagrid, a ferocious and hairy giant, reveals Harry’s life-altering revelation.

2. The Chamber of Secrets

Harry and his companions return to Hogwarts in Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets with a boom – a flying Ford Anglia crashing into the Whomping Willow. After being discovered by Muggles and barely escaping expulsion, you’d think Harry’s second year would be a breeze… Wrong. Fear and suspicions grow when the school caretaker’s cat is discovered petrified (basically immobilized and unconscious, but still alive) with the terrifying statement, “the Chamber of Secrets has been opened.” Nobody knows who it is, just that he calls himself “the Heir” and is on the warpath.

3. Prisoner of Azkaban

In the third novel, Sirius Black, a demented mass killer who escaped from Azkaban, is introduced. A horde of demented Dementors enters Hogwarts, led by Black, to keep an eye on Harry. Worse, our ordinarily brave hero has a poor response to the Dementors, fainting on a train and losing a crucial Quidditch match.

4. The Goblet of Fire

Let’s start with Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire since there’s a lot to unpack: For his fourth year, Harry returns to Hogwarts alongside Hermione and the Weasleys. The Triwizard Tournament will include students from three prominent wizarding institutions. Harry is safe until the Goblet of Fire chooses him as the fourth Triwizard Champion for no reason. 

5. Order of the Phoenix

Due to upsetting the population, the Ministry of Magic has refused to act even after Voldemort was resurrected in GoF. To fight him, the grown-ups must join an underground vigilante group known as the Order of the Phoenix, much like Harry, Ron, and Hermione.

6. Half-Blood Prince

Harry learns about Voldemort’s family and “origin story in this concluding chapter.” Dumbledore instructs Harry to prepare for a future war with Voldemort, presumably to keep his foes near. Harry doesn’t realize that Dumbledore has deeper plans, plans that ensnare him more and more each day.

7. Deathly Hallows

Or “Harry Potter and the Worst Camping Trip Ever.” Following the last book’s events, Harry pledges to destroy all of Voldemort’s Horcruxes personally. These Horcruxes (as revealed in Half-Blood Prince) contain fragments of Voldemort’s soul, making him eternal. So, before Harry can meet Voldemort, he must first discover and destroy the Horcruxes. This terrifying idea leads to the Worst Camping Trip Ever, albeit the presence of Ron and Hermione considerably lightens it.

8. The Cursed Child

Despite not being part of the original seven-book series, Cursed Child and the stage production have become part of the Harry Potter canon. Harry, Ron, Hermione, and Malfoy all send their kids to Hogwarts, this time Albus and Scorpius, respectively. Arriving at Hogwarts, the boys are put into Slytherin, causing friction between Albus and Harry for many years.