You may have heard that using cannabis has been legalized in New Jersey. However, you can still get arrested for possessing cannabis. Both state and federal laws govern the use, possession, cultivation, and distribution of cannabis. If you have been charged with a drug-related case in new jersey, head to josephlento.com to talk to a lawyer.
What are the laws?
In New Jersey, possessing more than 6 ounces of cannabis is illegal. Even cannabis seeds and stalks are counted, and if you are found with more than 6 ounces in new jersey, you will be breaking the law, leading to penalties.
There are also some things that the police cannot do, such as:
- The police cannot search, arrest or detain you solely for distributing less than one ounce of cannabis or for possessing cannabis. However, this does not apply if you have distributed a larger amount or if another crime is involved.
- The police cannot stop and search you to determine if you possess cannabis or if you are distributing cannabis by using the odor of cannabis as a reason.
- The police can, however, seize the cannabis even if they cannot charge you for it.
What is legal when it comes to cannabis?
In new jersey, it is legal to:
- Purchase cannabis if you are over 21 years of age
- Possess less than 6 ounces of cannabis if you are over 21 years of age
- Being under the influence of cannabis
- Not disposing of the cannabis properly
- Possess paraphernalia or equipment that may be used for cannabis
- Possess cannabis if you are a motor vehicle operator
What penalties can you face?
If you are caught in New Jersey for charges related to cannabis, the penalties you can face are:
- For possessing more than 6 ounces: $25,000 or 1.5 years in jail
- For selling cannabis paraphernalia: $10,000 or 18 months in jail
- For possessing cannabis in a school zone: additional fine and 100 hours of community service
There are some other charges that are also involved, such as:
- Intent to distribute more than 25 ounces of marijuana: Up to $300,000 and 10 – 20 years in jail
- Intent to distribute 5 – 25 ounces of marijuana: Up to $150,000 and 5 – 10 years in jail
- Intent to distribute less than 5 ounces of marijuana: Up to $25,000 and 3 – 5 years in jail
Facing drug-related charges in new jersey?
If you have been charged with marijuana possession or drug-related charges, it can leave you feeling very fearful and anxious. Do not hesitate to contact an experienced marijuana defense lawyer and get the legal help you need.